Enhancing your challenge

Hi there fellow yogis!! As our 100 days continue, I’ve been trying to add other elements into the challenge. For example, setting particular goals with my practice (holding a particular inversion, getting into your head/hand stand for more than just a fleeting moment), making sure I sleep at least 6 hours a night, or making sure I do core everyday. It can be whatever you might need to work on, something as basic as remembering to floss your teeth twice a day.

I’ve personally tried to tie these extra goals into my practice, but they can be anything… I’ve found this challenge to give me an overall perspective aimed at change, positive growth, and healthy happy living. Why not harness this energy and try to make other positive, habit forming changes in your life? I’ve made sure to eat a balanced breakfast every day since we’ve begun, something that I never prioritized… work always beat out eating a solid first meal of the day. 

I also have a horrible habit of watching TV before bed, which further stimulates me rather than letting my brain settle. Over the past week or so I’ve been replacing TV with music and reading and/or journaling. Even in the past couple of days, I’ve felt a difference in my rest. I fall asleep sooner, sleep deeper, and wake up feeling more refreshed. While this definitely has to do with my yoga practice itself, the change of pre-bedtime routine has done wonders. 

Undoubtedly, yoga makes life more fulfilled, balanced, and purpose driven. Try to take ten minutes sometime in the next day or two to find something else in your life that you can change with the hope of being more successful towards the end of fulfillment, balance, purpose, and contentment. 

Image

Flashback Friday to my mom and I during our session with our lovely island yogi, Ariel. Outside and in the sun, enjoying 75 degree weather… Hawaii does yoga right. Chicago weather is really making me miss home and my outdoor practice! 

Leave a Reply

